Time

It’s taken me a long time to figure out why my boyfriend is adamant that time doesn’t actually exist. I mean, we are still 2.5 million light-years from our closest neighbor galaxy Andromeda, but in nature the light-year is nothing. It still takes me four minutes to walk from here to the closest store but again, in nature this four minutes is nothing. When I asked him when he first said this to me how that could be, his response was simply “It all happens at once.” I laughed. I had never challenged time before, I only accepted it, but after some time (haha yes after some time) I began to realize exactly what he had been talking about.

What I had accepted as time was something I knew to be fluid since my very first Earth Science class in high school. I had always been obsessed with Earth Science and didn’t really actually learn anything other than what I’m about to tell you, but I went home that day and I told my dad exactly what it was that I had learned. Time is relative. My teacher had explained to us that day that if you took two atomic clocks, the most correct clocks known to man, and you leave one on Earth’s surface and take the second and fly it as high as you can into the atmosphere, it’s going to be a teeny tiny bit different when you compare it to the one that was left on Earth’s surface. Now how can that be!? The theory is that time will be experienced at different rates at different points. So for instance, if you put on a pot of water and stand there to watch it boil, it will take what feels like forever. Alternately, if you were to go read a book sitting near the stove to listen for the bubbling, it wouldn’t actually take that long at all. That’s relative time. That’s fluid time. You yourself are experiencing relative time.

So in a way, I knew that time didn’t exist, that it was a man made idea. The Universe is not ruled by time as we are. It was around this time that I started taking my mind off of our beautiful and amazing Earth and began looking more outward. I had always been curious about space, but at this point my curiosities began to take over. I was reminded this morning about this idea because my boyfriend doesn’t seem to live within the same time as everyone else seems to. I can sit there and read for an hour or two but I know it’s been roughly an hour or two. Him on the other hand? He can be off in his world doing whatever it is that he’s doing and he will never ever feel like it has been more than about fifteen minutes. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had to remind him that it’s been an hour and he’s gotta work because he just doesn’t feel time. That’s what happened this morning.

We live with my dad. We just moved and needed a place to get on our feet again and with my dad going through a divorce this was the perfect place to be. My dad is only here on the weekends however, (we get to help him out by maintaining the house while he is off at work) and so I tend to stay up a little longer on the weekends and talk. That’s what we do, we talk our hearts out. So I’m up late last night, and our doorbell doesn’t work and I’m waiting for a package to come. I’m sleeping on the couch, very tired, when someone is pounding on the door. Not the guy delivering the package, but my boyfriends boss. He’s come to our house because my boyfriend (and myself) slept in, ten minutes past the beginning of his shift. Lucky him to have a cool boss. I’m sitting here though, fully awake now, and it’s down pouring outside. I feel like it’s 6am. I’m not even hungry yet. My body hasn’t figured out that it’s actually 1pm and that I haven’t had a bite to eat, or a cup of tea. That’s what got me thinking again about how time actually might not exist. Some of us don’t live in a place where time does exist.

Look, for example, at the plants in your front yard. They are not growing in a way that keeps them attached to time. They don’t think “Hey, it’s been exactly three days, I need to grow an inch.” They grow according to their conditions. As do we, and every other living being. And I can tell you for a fact, that none of my three cats live according to any time frame. It’s three in the morning and sometimes they are sleeping and sometimes they are awake. On the occasions that they actually are awake, they are raising hell through the living room and hallway as if it were the middle of the day. We used to live by the sun. So during the summers we were up for longer due to the sun being ‘out’ longer. And the opposite was true during the winter. We didn’t say “Oh, it’s 8 o’clock, lets get ready for bed.” That’s part of the problem with society these days, at least from a medical standpoint. We are driving ourselves mad by not getting enough sleep and by not sleeping on a regular schedule. We have created the concept of time and live by hours on a clock, not by nature. I’m not saying there’s anything terribly wrong with this, but I think that maybe it would be good for us to live a little more by the sun when we can. As of right now, I’m jobless, searching for a job in this town, and I have that opportunity. I’ve been doing so during the week and I think that’s why I was thrown off today. It’s raining, I was up late, and time doesn’t exist, so I slept in.

Please don’t use that as an excuse when you’re late to work or school though. I don’t think that’s an excuse most would approve of. When I have my bookshop though, you can work for me and I’ll at least understand where you’re coming from because I’ll be coming from the same place.

Author: indigothoughtssite

I'm trying to find the best path in this Universe that will lead me to my ultimate goal which is to help people. I'm no professional, but you can't learn love in any school.

Leave a Reply

